You are here

2020 SBEAP/SBO National Awards

The Small Business Environmental Assistance Program/Small Business Ombudsman (SBEAP/SBO) National Steering Committee (NSC) Awards are the States’ premier awards program for recognizing outstanding environmental leadership among small businesses and small business assistance providers.  Nominations are currently being accepted for the Annual NSC Awards. 

These awards recognize small businesses, SBEAP/SBO programs and individuals, trade associations and other business assistance providers who have made significant contributions to protecting the environment.  The awards program is sponsored by the SBEAP/SBO NSC in partnership with U.S. EPA Asbestos and Small Business Office.

Please consider submitting a nomination in one of the following categories:

Small Business Environmental Assistance Program Award:  This award category recognizes accomplishments of a Small Business Environmental Assistance Program nationwide in the areas of compliance assistance, sustainability, advocacy, and collaboration. 

Small Business Environmental Stewardship Award: This award category recognizes the accomplishments of a Small Business nationwide in the areas of compliance, sustainability, advocacy, and collaboration.

Business Assistance Providers Environmental Leadership: This award category will showcase the accomplishments of a business assistance provider (e.g., Trade Associations, Chambers of Commerce, other partner organizations, etc.) that has worked with a local/state/territory/national SBO/SBEAP in the areas of compliance assistance, pollution prevention, sustainability, and information transfer.

Karen V. Brown Leadership Award: The award honors this person’s leadership, innovation, dedication to environmental protection, high standards for states to follow, as well as highlights his or her efforts to build strong local/state/federal partnerships for small business compliance assistance. 

Each award category has a different nomination form. 


  • Nominations open: Now
  • Nominations close:  May 15, 2020
  • Awards announced:  Pending new Annual Training date, during the National SBEAP/SBO Training in Washington, D.C. area

Eligibility:  Nominations will be accepted from individuals, organizations, institutions or businesses.  Award recipients from the previous year are ineligible for awards and cannot self-nominate for their category this year, though 2019 nominees that were not selected for an award may resubmit their nomination. 

You may nominate yourself as well as any individual, institution, or organization that you believe is worthy of recognition.  In addition, all applicants must:

  1. Be located in the United States and territories;
  2. Be active within the past year, and;
  3. Agree to have their environmental performance shared with others through a written description to appear in the awards program, press materials and on the National SBEAP website.

Please submit nominations for the NSC Awards.  Completed nomination forms can be submitted by email to: