You are here

National Steering Committee

The National Steering Committee, also known as the NSC, has a mission "To serve, support, and strengthen the Small Business Environmental Assistance Programs through representation and collaboration." 

NSC members are made up of representatives from each of the 10 EPA regions. Each subcommittee is also asked to provide a representative for the monthly calls.  

The monthly calls are held the first Tuesday of each month at 2:00 p.m. Eastern time. The group communicates through the NSC listserv and a call agenda with call-in information is provided each month before the scheduled call. Attendance is limited to the NSC members and subcommittee chairs. 

Leadership is provided by the NSC Chair, Lisa Ashenbrenner Hunt of NC.

  • 2016-2017 NSC photo director

Lisa Ashenbrenner Hunt

NSC Chair

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

(608) 266-6887

lisa.ashenbrennerhunt@wisconsin.gov

Jennifer Collins

NSC Vice-Chair

Indiana Department of Enviromental Management

(317) 234-9730

Jcollins1@idem.in.gov

List of Regional Representatives (click to open up full list)

 

 

Regional Representative

Regional Alternate

Region 1

(CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, and VT)

Sara J. Johnson, MS

NH Department of Environmental Services

(603) 271-1379

Sara.Johnson@des.nh.gov

Celia Riechel

VT Department of Environmental Conservation

(802) 477-2669

celia.riechel@vermont.gov

Region 2

(NJ, NY, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands)

Edward Bakos

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection

Small Business Assistance Program

(609) 292-0958

Edward.Bakos@dep.state.nj.us

Harry Ching, P.E.

Manager, Small Business Environmental Assistance Program

NYS Environmental Facilities Corporation

(518) 402-7396

Harry.Ching@efc.ny.gov

Region 3

(DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, and WV)

Jeremy Hancher, CEA, REP

Environmental Consultant

Environmental Management Assistance Program (EMAP)

Pennsylvania Small Business Development Center (SBDC)

Phone: (215) 573-3410

hancherj@wharton.upenn.edu

Nancy Herb

Air Quality Program Specialist

Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection

(717) 782-9269

nherb@pa.gov

Region 4

(AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, and TN)

 

 

Derek Bozzell

Enviromental Compliance Specialist

Kentucky Division of Compliance Assistance

(502) 782-6189

Derek.Bozzell@ky.gov

Melissa Collier

Small Business Ombudsman

MS Department of Environmental Quality

(601) 961-5025

mcollier@mdeq.ms.gov

Region 5

(IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, and WI)

Annette Fulgenzi

Manager

Illinois Small Business Environmental Assistance Program

Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity

(217) 785-8019

Annette.Fulgenzi@illinois.gov

Dan Sowry

Assistant Chief

OH Environmental Protection Agency

Office of Compliance Assistance and Pollution Prevention

(800) 329-7518

Daniel.Sowry@epa.ohio.gov

Region 6

(AR, LA, NM, OK, and TX)

Lloyd A. Kirk

Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality

(405) 702-7105 

Lloyd.Kirk@deq.ok.gov

Dianne Wilkins

Manager

Pollution Prevention & Small Business Assistance

Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality

(405) 702-9128 

dianne.wilkins@deq.ok.gov

Region 7

(IA, KS, MO, and NE)

Lynelle Ladd

Specialist, Pollution Prevention Institute

Kansas State University

(913)-715-7018

lladd@ksu.edu

Jennifer Wittenburg

Iowa Air Emissions Assistance Program

Program Manager

Iowa Waste Reduction Center

University of Northern Iowa

(319) 273-6580

jennifer.wittenburg@uni.edu

Region 8

(CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, and WY)

Landon Brown

Pollution Prevention Program Coordinator

Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality

(307) 777-7347

Landon.Brown@wyo.gov

Vacant

Region 9

(AZ, CA, HI, NV, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau)

Scott Tallini

Maricopa County Air Quality Department

ScottTallini@mail.maricopa.gov

Eric Florio

Air Quality Specialist at University of Nevada, Reno

(775) 834-3674

eflorio@unr.edu

Region 10

(AK, ID, OR, WA and 271 native tribes)

Belinda Breidenbach

Environmental Assistance Coordinator

Idaho Small Business Development Center

(208) 426-1873

belindabreidenba@boisestate.edu

Patrick Hoermann

King County – Washington

(206) 263-1658

Patrick.Hoermann@kingcounty.gov

  SBEAP-SBO Guidelines - 2010 NSC guidleines for positions and voting. (update pending)

The NSC Technical Subcommittee periodically reviews and provides comments on proposed EPA regulations. The NSC approves and submits the comment letters to EPA. Recent comment letters are listed below.

Additional comment letters can be found on the NSC Technical Subcommittee page.
 

2017 Annual Report Training Video

Recent Minutes

Minutes