You are here

National Steering Committee

The National Steering Committee, also known as the NSC, has a mission "To serve, support, and strengthen the Small Business Environmental Assistance Programs through representation and collaboration." 

NSC members are made up of representatives from each of the 10 EPA regions. Each subcommittee is also asked to provide a representative for the monthly calls.  

The monthly calls are held the first Tuesday of each month at 2:00 p.m. Eastern time. The group communicates through the NSC listserv and a call agenda with call-in information is provided each month before the scheduled call. Attendance is limited to the NSC members and subcommittee chairs. 

Leadership is provided by the NSC Chair, Jennifer Collins of IN.

  • 2020-2021 NSC photo directory

Jennifer Collins

NSC Chair

Indiana Department of Enviromental Management

(317) 234-9730

Donovan Grimwood

NSC Vice-Chair

Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation

(615) 532-4966

List of Regional Representatives (click to open up full list)



Regional Representative

Regional Alternate

Region 1

(CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, and VT)

Sara J. Johnson, MS

NH Department of Environmental Services

(603) 271-1379




Region 2

(NJ, NY, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands)

Edward Bakos

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection

Small Business Assistance Program

(609) 292-0958

Harry Ching, P.E.

Manager, Small Business Environmental Assistance Program

NYS Environmental Facilities Corporation

(518) 402-7396

Region 3

(DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, and WV)

Jeremy Hancher, CEA, REP

Environmental Management Assistance Program (EMAP)

Pennsylvania Small Business Development Center (SBDC)

Phone: (610) 499-4322


Nancy Herb

Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection

(717) 783-9269

Region 4

(AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, and TN)


Donovan Grimwood

Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation

(615) 532-4966



Derek Bozzell

Kentucky Divison of Compliance Assistance


(502) 782-6324

Region 5

(IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, and WI)

Jennifer Dixon

Air Quality Liaison

Michigan Department of Environment,

Great Lakes, and Energy

(517) 284-6892

Emily Ohde

Environmental Specialist

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

(651) 757-2559

Region 6

(AR, LA, NM, OK, and TX)

Lloyd A. Kirk

Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality

(405) 702-7105

Julie Nicol

Arkansas Department of Energy and Environment

(501) 682-0849

Region 7

(IA, KS, MO, and NE)

Nancy Larson

Pollution Prevention Institute

Kansas State University

(316) 660-0104

Jennifer Wittenburg

Iowa Air Emissions Assistance Program

Iowa Waste Reduction Center

University of Northern Iowa

(319) 273-6580

Region 8

(CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, and WY)

John Podolinsky

Montana Small Business Ombudsman

Small Business Environmental

Assistance Program


Eleanor Divver

Small Business Environmental Assistance Program

Utah Department of Environmental Quality

(801) 536-0091

Region 9

(AZ, CA, HI, NV, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau)

Eric Florio

University of Nevada, Reno

(775) 834-3674

Chris Lynch

University of Nevada, Reno

(775) 834-3687

Region 10

(AK, ID, OR, WA and 271 native tribes)

Belinda Breidenbach

Idaho Small Business Development Center

(208) 426-1873

Patrick Hoermann

King County – Washington

(206) 263-1658

  SBEAP-SBO Guidelines - 2010 NSC guidleines for positions and voting. (update pending)

The NSC Technical Subcommittee periodically reviews and provides comments on proposed EPA regulations. The NSC approves and submits the comment letters to EPA. Recent comment letters are listed below.

Additional comment letters can be found on the NSC Technical Subcommittee page.

2018 Annual Report Training Video

2019 NSC Strategy Session Results

Consolidated, searchable meeting minutes by year

2021 NSC consolidated meeting minutes: Word

2020 NSC consolidated meeting minutes: pdf

2019 NSC consolidated meeting minutes: pdf.

2018 NSC consolidated meeting minutes: pdf

2017 NSC consolidated meeting minutes: pdf

2016 NSC consolidated meeting minutes: pdf