You are here

National Steering Committee

The National Steering Committee, also known as the NSC, has a mission "To serve, support, and strengthen the Small Business Environmental Assistance Programs through representation and collaboration." 

NSC members are made up of representatives from each of the 10 EPA regions. Each subcommittee is also asked to provide a representative for the monthly calls.  

The monthly calls are held the first Tuesday of each month at 2:00 p.m. Eastern time. The group communicates through the NSC listserv and a call agenda with call-in information is provided each month before the scheduled call. Attendance is limited to the NSC members and subcommittee chairs. To join this meeting call 866-299-3188 and use the access code when prompted 202-566-2827#.

Leadership is provided by the NSC Chair, Tony Pendola of NC.

  • 2016-2017 NSC photo directory

Tony Pendola, PE

NSC Chair

NC Division of Environmental Assistance and Customer Service

Tony.Pendola@ncdenr.gov

Lisa Ashenbrenner Hunt

NSC Vice-Chair

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

lisa.ashenbrennerhunt@wisconsin.gov

 

 

Regional Representative

Regional Alternate

Region 1

(CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, and VT)

Sara J. Johnson, MS

NH Department of Environmental Services

Sara.Johnson@des.nh.gov

Vacant

Region 2

(NJ, NY, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands)

Harry Ching, P.E.

Manager, Small Business Environmental Assistance Program

NYS Environmental Facilities Corporation

(518) 402-7396

Harry.Ching@efc.ny.gov

Edward Bakos

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection

Small Business Assistance Program

(609) 292-0958

Edward.Bakos@dep.state.nj.us

Region 3

(DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, and WV)

Jeremy Hancher, CEA, REP

Environmental Consultant

Environmental Management Assistance Program (EMAP)

Pennsylvania Small Business Development Center (SBDC)

Phone: (215) 573-3410

hancherj@wharton.upenn.edu

Nancy Herb

Air Quality Program Specialist

Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection

(717) 782-9269

nherb@pa.gov

Region 4

(AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, and TN)

 

 

Donovan Grimwood

Small Business Enviromental Ombudsman

TN Office of External Affairs

(615) 532-4966

Donovan.Grimwood@tn.gov

Derek Bozzell

Enviromental Compliance Specialist

Kentucky Division of Compliance Assistance

(502) 782-6189

Derek.Bozzell@ky.gov

Region 5

(IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, and WI)

Jenifer Dixon

Air Quality Compliance Asssitance Specialist

Office of Environmental Assistance

Michigan Department of Environmental Quality

(517) 284-6892

Dixonj2@michigan.gov

Jennifer Collins

Assitance and Outreach Manager

Indiana Department of Enviromental Management

(317) 234-9730

Jcollins1@idem.in.gov

Region 6

(AR, LA, NM, OK, and TX)

Lloyd A. Kirk

Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality

405-702-7105 

Lloyd.Kirk@deq.ok.gov

vacant

Region 7

(IA, KS, MO, and NE)

Nancy Larson, RS

Director, Pollution Prevention Institute

Kansas State University

Kansas Small Business Environmental Assistance Program

316) 660-0104

nlarson@ksu.edu

Dan Nickey

Associate Director

Iowa Waste Reduction Center

University of Northern Iowa

(319) 273-6588

Daniel.Nickey@uni.edu

Region 8

(CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, and WY)

Landon Brown

Pollution Prevention Program Coordinator

Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality

(307) 777-7347

Landon.Brown@wyo.gov

Elizabeth Sapio

Small Business Ombudsman

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment

(303) 692-2135

Elizabeth.Sapio@state.co.us

Region 9

(AZ, CA, HI, NV, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau)

Jenna Latt, B.S. ChE

Small Business Environmental Assistance Program

California Air Resources Board

(626) 575-7097

Jenna.Latt@arb.ca.gov

Kale Walch

Air Quality Manager

Pinal Co. Air Quality Control District

(520) 866-6860

kale.walch@pinalcountyaz.gov

Region 10

(AK, ID, OR, WA and 271 native tribes)

Laura Mathews

Small Business Environmental Assistance Program

Idaho Small Business Development Center

(208) 426-1839

Lauramathews@boisestate.edu

Patrick Hoermann

King County – Washington

(206) 263-1658

Patrick.Hoermann@kingcounty.gov

 

The NSC Technical Subcommittee periodically reviews and provides comments on proposed EPA regulations. The NSC approves and submits the comment letters to EPA. Recent comment letters are listed below.

Additional comment letters can be found on the NSC Technical Subcommittee page.
 

Annual Report Training Video

 

Recent Minutes

Minutes