NCAP CONGRESSIONAL OUTREACH HOUSE & SENATE COMMITTEES OVERVIEW

US Senate

Environment and Public Works Committee:

The Environment and Public Works Committee has jurisdiction over the EPA and all environmentally related issues.

Republicans (10): Inhofe, Jim (OK), Chair; Warner, John (VA); Bond, Christopher (MO); Voinovich, George (OH); Chafee, Lincoln (RI); Murkowski, Lisa (AK); Thune, John (SD); DeMint, James (SC); Isakson, Johnny (GA); Vitter, David (LA).

<u>Independent (1)</u>: James Jeffords (Vt.), ranking member.

<u>Democrats (7)</u>: Baucus, Max (MT); Lieberman, Joseph (CT); Boxer, Barbara (CA); Carper, Thomas (DE), Clinton, Hillary (NY); Lautenberg, Frank (NJ); Obama, Barack (IL).

Small Business and Entrepreneurship Committee:

This committee has jurisdiction over all activities which effect the Small Business Administration and my request the right to review any activities that effect small businesses.

Republicans (9): Snowe, Olympia (MA), Chair; Allen, George (VA); Bond, Christopher (MO); Burns, Conrad (MT); Coleman, Norm (MN); Enzi, Michael (WY); Thune, John (SD); Isakson, John (GA), Vitter, David (LA).

<u>Democrats (7)</u>: Bayh, Evan (IN); Cantwell, Maria (WA); Harkin, Tom (IA); Kerry, John (D); Landreiu, Mary (LA); Liberman, Joseph (CT); Pryor, Mark (AR).

Appropriations Committee:

The Senate Appropriations Committee is the largest committee in the U.S. Senate. Its role is defined by the U.S. Constitution, which requires "appropriations made by law" prior to the expenditure of any money from the Federal treasury. The Committee writes the legislation that allocates federal funds to the numerous government agencies, departments, and organizations on an annual basis. Appropriations are limited to the levels set by a Budget Resolution, drafted by the Senate Budget Committee.

Republicans (15): Cochran, Thad (MS), Chair; Stevens, Ted (AK); Specter, Arlen (PA); Domenici, Pete (NM); Bond, Christopher (MO); McConnell, Mitch (KY); Burns, Conrad

(MT); Shelby, Richard (AL); Gregg, Judd (NH); Bennett, Robert (UT); Craig, Larry (ID); Hutchison, Kay (TX); DeWine, Mike (OH); Brownback, Samuel (KS); Allard, A. (CO).

<u>Democrats (13)</u>: Byrd, Robert (WV), Ranking Member; Inouye, Daniel (HI); Leahy, Patrick (VT); Harkin, Tom (IA); Mikulski, Barbara (MD); Reid, Harry (NV); Kohl, Herb (WI); Murray, Patty (WA); Dorgan, Byron (ND); Feinstein, Dianne (CA); Durbin, Richard (IL); Johnson, Tim (SD); Landrieu, Mary (LA).

Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee:

This committee has over site of a large segment of government activities and therefore has substantial influence at all levels of government.

Republicans (9): Collins, Susan (ME), Chairman; Stevens, Ted (AK); Voinovich, George (OH); Coleman, Norm (MN); Coburn, Tom (OK); Chafee, Lincoln (RI); Bennett, Robert (UT); Domenici, Pete (NM); Warner, John (VA).

<u>Democrats (7)</u>: Lieberman, Joseph (CT), Ranking Member; Levin, Carl (MI); Akaka, Daniel (HI); Carper, Thomas (DE); Dayton, Mark (MN); Lautenberg, Frank (NJ); Pryor, Mark (AR).

Energy and Natural Resources Committee:

The Committee includes oversight and legislative responsibilities for: National Energy Policy, including international energy affairs and emergency preparedness; nuclear waste policy; privatization of federal assets; territorial policy (including changes in status and issues affecting Antarctica); Native Hawaiian matters; and Ad Hoc issues.

Republicans (12): Domenici, Pete (NM), Chairman; Alexander, Allen, George (VA); Lamar (TN); Burr, Richard (NC); Burns, Conrad (MT); Bunnign, Jim (KY); Craig, Larry (ID); Martinez, Mel (FL); Talent, Jim (MO); Murkowski, Lisa (AK); Smith, Gordon (OR); Thomas, Craig (WY).

<u>Democrats (10)</u>: Bingaman, Jeff, Ranking Member (NM); Akaka, Daniel (HA); Cantwell, Maria (WA); Corzine, John (NJ); Dorgan, Byron (ND); Feinstein, Dianne (CA); Johnson, Tim (SD); Wyden, Ron (OR); Landrieu, Mary (LA); Thomas, Salazar, Ken (CO).

US House of Representatives

Small Business Committee

This Committee is responsible for oversight of the Small Business Administration as well as the impacts that other agencies have on small businesses. In addition to their direct impact on small businesses, this includes the Small Business Paperwork Reduction Act, Regulatory Flexibility Act, and the Equal Access to Justice Act all of which are concerns of section 507 of the Clean Air Act Amendments.

Republicans (18): Manzullo, Donald (IL), Chairman; Bartlett, Roscoe (MD); Kelly, Sue (NY); Chabot, Steve (OH); Graves, Sam (MO); Akin, Todd (MO); Shuster, Bill (PA); Musgrave, Marilyn (CO); Bradley, Jeb (NH); King, Steve (IA); McCotter, Thaddeus (MI); Keller, Ric (FL); Poe, Ted (TX); Sodrel, Michael (IN); Fortenberry, Jeff (NE); Fitzpatrick, Michael (PA); Westmoreland, Lynn (GA); Gohmert, Louie (TX).

<u>Democrats (14)</u>:Velazquez, Nydia (NY) Ranking Member; Millender-McDonald, Juanita (CA); Udall, Tom (NM); Lipinski, Daniel (IL); Faleomavaega, Eni F.H. (AS); Christensen, Donna (VI); Davis, Danny (IL);Case, Ed (HI); Bordallo, Madeleine (GU); Grijalva, Raul (AZ); Michaud, Michael (ME); Sanchez, Linda (CA); Barrow, John (GA); Bean, Melissa (IL).

Energy and Commerce Committee

the Committee maintains principal responsibility for legislative oversight relating to telecommunications, consumer protection, food and drug safety, public health, <u>air quality and environmental health</u>, the supply and delivery of energy, and interstate and foreign commerce in general. This jurisdiction extends over five Cabinet-level departments and seven independent agencies—including the EPA, as well as responsibility for the Clean Air Act.

Republicans (31):Barton, Joe (TX), Chairman; Hall, Ralph (TX); Bilirakis, Michael (FL), Vice Chairman; Upton, Fred (MI);Stearns, Cliff (FL); Gillmor, Paul (OH); Deal, Nathan (GA); Whitfield, ED (KY); Norwood, Charlie (GA); Cubin, Barbara (WY); Shimkus, John (IL); Wilson, Heather (NM); Shadegg, John (AZ); Pickering, Charles "Chip" (MS), Vice Chairman; Fossella, Vito (NY); Blunt, Blunt (MO); Buyer, Steve (IN); Radanovich, George (CA); Bass, Charles F. (NH); Pitts, Joseph (PA); Bono, Mary (CA); Walden, Greg (OR) Terry, Lee (NE); Ferguson, Mike (NJ); Rogers, Mike (MI); Otter, C.L. "Butch" (ID); Myrick, Sue (NC); Sullivan, John (OK); Murphy, Tim (PA); Burgess, Michael (TX); Blackburn, Marsha (TN).

<u>Democrats (26)</u>: Dingell, John D. (MI), Ranking Member; Waxman, Henry A. (CA); Markey, Edward J. (MA); Boucher, Rick (VA); Towns, Edolphus (NY); Pallone Jr., Frank (NJ); Brown, Sherrod (OH); Gordon, Bart (TN); Rush, Bobby L. (IL); Eshoo, Anna G. (CA); Stupak, Bart (MI); Engel, Eliot L. (NY); Wynn, Albert R. (MD); Green, Gene (TX); Strickland, Ted (OH); DeGette, Diana (CO); Capps, Lois (CA); Doyle, Mike (PA); Allen, Tom (MA); Davis, Jim (FL); Schakowsky, Jan (IL); Solis, Hilda L. (CA) Gonzalez, Charles A. (TX) Inslee, Jay (WA); Baldwin, Tammy (WI); Ross, Mike (AR)