National Steering Committee

The National Steering Committee, also known as the NSC, has a mission "To serve, support, and strengthen the Small Business Environmental Assistance Programs through representation and collaboration." 

NSC members are made up of representatives from each of the 10 EPA regions. Each subcommittee is also asked to provide a representative for the monthly calls.  

The monthly calls are held the first Tuesday of each month at 2:00 p.m. Eastern time. The group communicates through the NSC listserv and a call agenda with call-in information is provided each month before the scheduled call. Attendance is limited to the NSC members and subcommittee chairs. Leadership is provided by the NSC Chair, Donovan Grimwood of TN.

NSC Photo Directory

NSC Chair

Donovan Grimwood head shot

Donovan Grimwood
Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation
(615) 532-4966
donovan.grimwood@tn.gov

NSC Vice Chair

Chris Lynch

Chris Lynch
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 834-3687
clynch@unr.edu

Regional Representatives

Region Regional Representative Regional Alternate

Region 1
(CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, and VT)

Sara Johnson

Sara J. Johnson, MS
NH Department of Environmental Services
(603) 271-1379
Sara.Johnson@des.nh.gov

Julie Churchill photo

Julie M. Churchill
ME Department of Environmental Protection
(207) 287-7881
Julie.M.Churchill@maine.gov

Region 2
(NJ, NY, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands)

Edward Bakos

Edward Bakos
New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
Small Business Assistance Program
(609) 292-0958
Edward.Bakos@dep.state.nj.us

Vacant

Vacant

Region 3
(DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, and WV)

Jeremy Hancher

 Jeremy Hancher, CEA, REP
Environmental Management Assistance Program (EMAP)
Pennsylvania Small Business Development Center (SBDC)
Phone: (610) 499-4322
jwhancher@widener.edu

Vacant

Nancy Herb
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
(717) 783-9269
nherb@pa.gov

Region 4
(AL, FL, GA, KY, MS,
NC, SC, and TN)

Crystal Warren

Crystal Warren
Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation
(901) 371-3164
Crystal.Warren@tn.gov

Vacant

Vacant

Region 5
(IL, IN, MI, MN,
OH, and WI)

Renee Bashel

Renee Bashel
Wisconsin Department if Natural Resources
(608) 347-7940
Renee.Bashel@wisconsin.gov

Vacant

Vacant

 

Region 6
(AR, LA, NM,
OK, and TX)

Lloyd Kirk

Lloyd A. Kirk
Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality
(405) 702-7105
Lloyd.Kirk@deq.ok.gov

Lucy Cross photo

Lucy Cross
Arkansas Department of Energy & Environment
(501) 682-0788
cross@adeq.state.ar.us

Region 7
(IA, KS, MO, and NE)

Bob Randolph

Bob Randolph
Missouri DNR Air Pollution Control Program
573-526-1352
bob.randolph@dnr.mo.gov

Leena Divakar

Leena Divakar
Pollution Prevention Institute
Kansas State University
785-532-6026
leenadivakar@ksu.edu

Region 8
(CO, MT, ND, SD,
UT, and WY)

Eleanor Divver

Eleanor Divver
Small Business Environmental Assistance Program
Utah Department of Environmental Quality
(801) 536-0091
edivver@utah.gov

Gabe Catenacci

Gabe Catenacci
Colorado Division of
Environmental Health
and Sustainability
(720) 515-2119
gabe.catenacci@state.co.us

Region 9
(AZ, CA, HI, NV,
American Samoa,
Commonwealth of the
Northern Mariana Islands,
Federated States
of Micronesia, Guam,
Marshall Islands, and
Republic of Palau)

Chris Lynch

Chris Lynch
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 834-3687
clynch@unr.edu

Zack Rice photo

Zack Rice
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 834-3682
zrice@unr.edu

Region 10
(AK, ID, OR, WA
and 271 native tribes)

Belinda Breidenbach

Belinda Breidenbach
Idaho Small Business Development Center
(208) 615-9484
belindabreidenba@boisestate.edu

Jim Plosay
Jim Plosay
Air Permit Program
State of Alaska
(907) 465-5561
Jim.plosay@alaska.gov

 

  SBEAP-SBO Guidelines - 2010 NSC guidelines for positions and voting. (update pending)

The NSC Technical Subcommittee periodically reviews and provides comments on proposed EPA regulations. The NSC approves and submits the comment letters to EPA. Recent comment letters are listed below.

Additional comment letters can be found on the NSC Technical Subcommittee page.

National Steering Committee meeting records

Consolidated, searchable meeting minutes by year

2023 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: Notes
2022 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf
2021 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf
2020 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf
2019 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf
2018 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf
2017 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf
2016 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf