National Steering Committee

The National Steering Committee, also known as the NSC, has a mission "To serve, support, and strengthen the Small Business Environmental Assistance Programs through representation and collaboration." 

NSC members are made up of representatives from each of the 10 EPA regions. Each subcommittee is also asked to provide a representative for the monthly calls.  

The monthly calls are held the first Tuesday of each month at 2:00 p.m. Eastern time. The group communicates through the NSC listserv and a call agenda with call-in information is provided each month before the scheduled call. Attendance is limited to the NSC members and subcommittee chairs. 

Leadership is provided by the NSC Chair, Jennifer Collins of IN.

2021-2021 NSC Photo Directory

Headshot of Jennifer Collins

Jennifer Collins
NSC Chair

Indiana Department of Enviromental Management
(317) 234-9730

Headshot of Donovan Grimwood

Donovan Grimwood
NSC Vice-Chair

Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation
(615) 532-4966

Regional Representatives

Region Regional Representative Regional Alternate

Region 1
(CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, and VT)






 Sara Johnson

Sara J. Johnson, MS
NH Department of Environmental Services
(603) 271-1379

Julie Churchill

Julie M. Churchill
ME Department of Environmental Protection
(207) 287-7881

Region 2
(NJ, NY, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands)

Edward Bakos

Edward Bakos
New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
Small Business Assistance Program
(609) 292-0958



Region 3
(DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, and WV)

Jeremy Hancher

 Jeremy Hancher, CEA, REP
Environmental Management Assistance Program (EMAP)
Pennsylvania Small Business Development Center (SBDC)
Phone: (610) 499-4322

Nancy Herb

Nancy Herb
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
(717) 783-9269

Region 4
(AL, FL, GA, KY, MS,
NC, SC, and TN)

Derek Bozzell

Derek Bozzell
Environmental Assistance Branch Manager
Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet
Division of Compliance Assistance
(502) 782-6324

Crystal Warren

Crystal Warren
Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation
(901) 371-3164


Region 5
(IL, IN, MI, MN,
OH, and WI)

Emily Ohde

Emily Ohde
Environmental Specialist
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
(507) 206-2625

Alexis Andrews

Alexis Andrews
Environmental Supervisor
Ohio Environmental Protection Agency
(614) 644-3646


Region 6
(AR, LA, NM,
OK, and TX)

Lloyd Kirk

Lloyd A. Kirk
Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality
(405) 702-7105

Lucy Cross photo

Lucy Cross
Arkansas Department of Energy & Environment
(501) 682-0788

Region 7
(IA, KS, MO, and NE)

Jennifer Wittenburg

Jennifer Wittenburg
Iowa Air Emissions Assistance Program
Iowa Waste Reduction Center
University of Northern Iowa
(319) 273-6580

Nancy Larson

Nancy Larson
Pollution Prevention Institute
Kansas State University
(316) 660-0104

Region 8
(CO, MT, ND, SD,
UT, and WY)

John Podolinsky

John Podolinsky
Montana Small Business Ombudsman
Small Business Environmental
Assistance Program

Eleanor Divver

Eleanor Divver
Small Business Environmental Assistance Program
Utah Department of Environmental Quality
(801) 536-0091

Region 9
(AZ, CA, HI, NV,
American Samoa,
Commonwealth of the
Northern Mariana Islands,
Federated States
of Micronesia, Guam,
Marshall Islands, and
Republic of Palau)

Eric Florio

Eric Florio
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 834-3674

Chris Lynch

Chris Lynch
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 834-3687

Region 10
and 271 native tribes)

Belinda Breidenbach

Belinda Breidenbach
Idaho Small Business Development Center
(208) 426-1873

Jim Plosay
Jim Plosay
Air Permit Program
State of Alaska
(907) 465-5561


  SBEAP-SBO Guidelines - 2010 NSC guidelines for positions and voting. (update pending)

The NSC Technical Subcommittee periodically reviews and provides comments on proposed EPA regulations. The NSC approves and submits the comment letters to EPA. Recent comment letters are listed below.

Additional comment letters can be found on the NSC Technical Subcommittee page.

National Steering Committee meeting records

Consolidated, searchable meeting minutes by year

2022 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: Notes

2021 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf

2020 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf

2019 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf

2018 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf

2017 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf

2016 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf