National Steering Committee

The National Steering Committee, also known as the NSC, has a mission "To serve, support, and strengthen the Small Business Environmental Assistance Programs through representation and collaboration." 

NSC members are made up of representatives from each of the 10 EPA regions. Each subcommittee is also asked to provide a representative for the monthly calls.  

The monthly calls are held the first Tuesday of each month at 2:00 p.m. Eastern time. The group communicates through the NSC listserv and a call agenda with call-in information is provided each month before the scheduled call. Attendance is limited to the NSC members and subcommittee chairs. 

Leadership is provided by the NSC Chair, Jennifer Collins of IN.

2021-2021 NSC Photo Directory

Headshot of Jennifer Collins

Jennifer Collins
NSC Chair

Indiana Department of Enviromental Management
(317) 234-9730
Jcollins1@idem.in.gov

Headshot of Donovan Grimwood

Donovan Grimwood
NSC Vice-Chair

Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation
(615) 532-4966

Regional Representatives

Region Regional Representative Regional Alternate

Region 1
(CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, and VT)

 

 

 

 

 

 Sara Johnson

Sara J. Johnson, MS
NH Department of Environmental Services
(603) 271-1379
Sara.Johnson@des.nh.gov

Julie Churchill

Julie M. Churchill
ME Department of Environmental Protection
(207) 287-7881
Julie.M.Churchill@maine.gov

Region 2
(NJ, NY, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands)

Edward Bakos

Edward Bakos
New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
Small Business Assistance Program
(609) 292-0958
Edward.Bakos@dep.state.nj.us

Vacant

Vacant

Region 3
(DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, and WV)

Jeremy Hancher

 Jeremy Hancher, CEA, REP
Environmental Management Assistance Program (EMAP)
Pennsylvania Small Business Development Center (SBDC)
Phone: (610) 499-4322
jwhancher@widener.edu

Nancy Herb

Nancy Herb
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
(717) 783-9269
nherb@pa.gov

Region 4
(AL, FL, GA, KY, MS,
NC, SC, and TN)

Derek Bozzell

Derek Bozzell
Environmental Assistance Branch Manager
Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet
Division of Compliance Assistance
(502) 782-6324
derek.bozzell@ky.gov

Crystal Warren

Crystal Warren
Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation
(901) 371-3164
Crystal.Warren@tn.gov

 

Region 5
(IL, IN, MI, MN,
OH, and WI)

Emily Ohde

Emily Ohde
Environmental Specialist
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
(507) 206-2625
Emily.Ohde@STATE.MN.US

Alexis Andrews

Alexis Andrews
Environmental Supervisor
Ohio Environmental Protection Agency
(614) 644-3646
Alexis.Andrews@epa.ohio.gov

 

Region 6
(AR, LA, NM,
OK, and TX)

Lloyd Kirk

Lloyd A. Kirk
Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality
(405) 702-7105
Lloyd.Kirk@deq.ok.gov

Lucy Cross photo

Lucy Cross
Arkansas Department of Energy & Environment
(501) 682-0788
cross@adeq.state.ar.us

Region 7
(IA, KS, MO, and NE)

Jennifer Wittenburg

Jennifer Wittenburg
Iowa Air Emissions Assistance Program
Iowa Waste Reduction Center
University of Northern Iowa
(319) 273-6580
jennifer.wittenburg@uni.edu

Nancy Larson

Nancy Larson
Pollution Prevention Institute
Kansas State University
(316) 660-0104
nlarson@ksu.edu

Region 8
(CO, MT, ND, SD,
UT, and WY)

John Podolinsky

John Podolinsky
Montana Small Business Ombudsman
Small Business Environmental
Assistance Program
800-433-8773
JPodolinsky@mt.gov

Eleanor Divver

Eleanor Divver
Small Business Environmental Assistance Program
Utah Department of Environmental Quality
(801) 536-0091
edivver@utah.gov

Region 9
(AZ, CA, HI, NV,
American Samoa,
Commonwealth of the
Northern Mariana Islands,
Federated States
of Micronesia, Guam,
Marshall Islands, and
Republic of Palau)

Eric Florio

Eric Florio
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 834-3674
eflorio@unr.edu

Chris Lynch

Chris Lynch
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 834-3687
clynch@unr.edu

Region 10
(AK, ID, OR, WA
and 271 native tribes)

Belinda Breidenbach

Belinda Breidenbach
Idaho Small Business Development Center
(208) 426-1873
belindabreidenba@boisestate.edu

Jim Plosay
Jim Plosay
Air Permit Program
State of Alaska
(907) 465-5561
Jim.plosay@alaska.gov

 

  SBEAP-SBO Guidelines - 2010 NSC guidelines for positions and voting. (update pending)

The NSC Technical Subcommittee periodically reviews and provides comments on proposed EPA regulations. The NSC approves and submits the comment letters to EPA. Recent comment letters are listed below.

Additional comment letters can be found on the NSC Technical Subcommittee page.

National Steering Committee meeting records

Consolidated, searchable meeting minutes by year

2022 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: Notes

2021 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf

2020 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf

2019 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf

2018 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf

2017 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf

2016 National Steering Committee consolidate meeting minutes: pdf